Johansson's Dining House White Moulding

History

A long time ago....during World War II, aboard the Finland/South American Lines, David Johansson was but a gleam in Chef Birger Johansson's eye. It may however explain young David's early desire to become a restaurateur.

And so the story goes, after twenty years in the Carroll County area, David finally found a home at 4 West Main Street. The rich history of the building was always attractive to David. Having been built 1913, it housed a clothing store and tailor shop until 1940 when it was leased to G. C. Murphy for the next forty years.

In 1980 Terry Burke opened The Treat Shop on the first floor. At that time an antique mall occupied the basement When the antique mall closed a restaurant called The Cellar Door opened. With the opening of Cranberry Mall in 1987, The Treat Shop moved its retail operation there and The Cellar Door went out of business. It was at this time that David Johansson leased the downstairs and opened Champs. When the building became available for sale in 1994, David's dream came full circle and so began construction of Johansson's Dining House. Not long after came the construction of Johansson's Microbrewery

White Moulding